Allows entry to all six ABC-CLIO databases. It also allows you to search across all six databases.
Explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.
Investigates the people, events, and themes of our nation’s evolution from the explorers of the Americas to today’s headlines.
Explores more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.
Authoritative digital database on popular culture in America, both past and present.
Offers a comprehensive electronic library of historical reference materials and interactive curricular units.
Presents comprehensive information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined our world from antiquity to today.
Covers a wide range of academic disciplines, from the behavioral and technical sciences, through education, theatre, and many more. It includes some popular magazines as well as scholarly journals. This is the FULL version of Academic Search, and includes about 9,000 full-text journals, about double the number available in the Premier version.
Contains biographical full text articles, page images and abstracts from today’s leading magazines and journals—providing the most current coverage of an individual’s life and work
Allows you to search for important figures throughout history, using useful categories like “Activists and Reformers,” or “First Ladies,” or by “Nationalities.” You can also browse alphabetically.
A clearinghouse for all things education. Not just for teachers; many students use it for projects related to education.
Offers an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of the most significant people, events, and topics in United States history. Topics range from the arrival of the first stirrings of the American Revolution and on through the Civil Rights movement, 9/11, and the War on Terror.
A user-friendly resource that provides millions of full-text articles from hundreds of national and global newspapers, magazines, and journals. Offers thousands of images, videos, and audio selections from authoritative sources, and reference content from Gale and other encyclopedias.
A multidisciplinary source of scholarly, government and general-interest titles that makes connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines, such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling and more.
Features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and academic journals. This content includes historical documents, biographies of historical figures, full-text reference books, encyclopedias, history books, historical photos and maps, and historical video.
Includes scholarship published in more than 1,400 of the highest-quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
A multi-disciplinary database that covers all aspects of academic study and general interest subject areas. It has information from scholarly journals and full-text magazines, as well as full-text newspapers, newswires, reference books, and encyclopedias.
Provides full text for magazines, reference books, and primary source documents in business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more, as well as an image collection containing photos, maps, and flags.
Contains hundreds of popular high school magazines in many subject areas including history, science, careers and much more. Some titles are Archaeology, Astronomy, Bioscience, Careers & Colleges, Congressional Digest, Scientific American, Smithsonian, World War II. MAS Ultra also has biographies and primary source documents, and an image collection containing photos.
Collects articles from current newspapers from about the 1980s to the present, such as the Chicago Tribune (1985-), Christian Science Monitor (1988-), Hartford Courant (1992-), Los Angeles Times (1985-), New York Times (1980-), Wall Street Journal (1984-), and the Washington Post (1987-). There are also historical Connecticut newspapers, including the Hartford Courant (1766-1922) and the Connecticut Courant.
Provides full-text searching for more than 1,400 newspapers from all around the world. Videos and podcasts are coming soon.
This State Library of Connecticut resource allows you to read full-text articles from periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals, etc.) and to access a number of e-books and audiobooks. For off-campus access to many of the databases in the A to Z list, use the links on this Amity library database page to sign in with your Amity credentials. Some other resources will require you to log in with the barcode number from your local CT library card.
This tool links all EBSCO databases available through the State Library of Connecticut and allows you to search by discipline (among other categories and criteria).
Features articles on a wide range of topics in science. You can browse through different subjects, or look at broad science areas.
Provides resources for many subject areas: arts and humanities, government, civics, economics, world events, 20th century history.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
This database is currently available on a trial basis only. See one of the librarians for access credentials.
Amity Regional High School Library 